The Introduction

There are 21 (Twenty one) Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs) , functioning under the administrative control of Railway Recruitment Control Board (RRCB), Rail Bhawan, New Delhi which are one of the largest recruiting agencies of Government of India doing direct recruitment for all the departments (Non Gazetted) of Indian Railways. The Railway Recruitment Boards are mandated with the task of making recruitment to all Group C (Technical and Non-technical) posts, Level-II to Level-VII of 7th Central Pay Commission. However, in 2018 it was also given the mandate to conduct the Computer Based Test for Level-I posts.

Railway Recruitment Board, Ranchi was opened as Branch Office of Calcutta Service Commission in 1973 and was known as Railway Service commission, Ranchi. In 1981, the branch office was put under the administrative control of Patna Railway Service commission.  In 1984, Railway Service commission, Ranchi was made an independent RRB to recruit exclusively Schedule Tribe candidates.  When all Railway Service commission were renamed as Railway Recruitment Board in 1985, the Railway Service Commission, Ranchi  was also renamed as Railway Recruitment Board, Ranchi. The present jurisdiction of Railway Recruitment Board, Ranchi is as follows :

01 South Eastern Railway Chakradharpur and Ranchi All communities
02 East Central Railway Dhanbad All communities



Group-C  and various posts in Level-1 of 7th Central Pay Commission.


Chairman (Senior Administrative Grade)

Member Secretary (Junior Administrative Grade)

Total Number of NG staff : 12